Walter Scheel Medal

Under the patronage of H.E. Mr Valéry Giscard d’Estaing, President of the French Republic

„Wines, cuisines and regional specialties are part of Europe’s cultural heritage. We foster it in order to preserve it – as a reflection of our continent’s versatility, beauty, and cultural wealth.“

Held together by strong ties of steadfast values and marked by unique, millennia-old cultural wealth, contemporary Europe is united in diversity. This diversity is reflected, inter alia, by the continent’s culinary heritage: regional specialties, traditional dishes, and beautiful landscapes shaped by viticulture and agriculture. Walter Scheel always believed that a country’s cultural identity is also determined by its cuisine. Throughout his entire political career as German Federal President, Foreign Secretary, Deputy Federal Chancellor, Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation, Chairman and later Honorary Chairman of the Liberal Democratic Party of Germany (FDP), Walter Scheel advocated and supported an enjoyable lifestyle. At the same time, his passion for high-quality wine and cuisine conveyed positive political signals. He supported the young protagonists of the German culinary revolution of the 1970s, provided a platform for aspiring winegrowers, welcomed visitors from all over the world and gave them a rather unconventional, cheerful and enjoyable impression of Germany. According to Scheel, “food and drink bring us together. They unite nations and establish a deep connectedness between humans.”

This “connectedness” represents the spirit of the European project. In this spirit, personalities who have rendered outstanding services to preserving the European culinary culture – and as such have made an exceptional contribution to the European cultural heritage – are awarded the “Walter Scheel Medal”. Patron of the award is H.E. Mr Valéry Giscard d’Estaing, President of the French Republic.

Laureates

Angelo Gaja

ANGELO GAJA
Azienda Agricola Gaja – Barbaresco

Hugh Johnson

HUGH JOHNSON
Publicist – London

Marc_Haeberlin

THE HAEBERLIN FAMILY
Auberge de l’Ill – Illhaeusern

Georg-Riedel

GEORG RIEDEL
Riedel Glas – Kufstein

Pierre_Emmanuel_Taittinger

PIERRE-EMMANUEL TAITTINGER
Champagne Taittinger – Reims

Witzigmann_

ECKART WITZIGMANN
Chef of the Century – Munich

Walter Scheel

“Without Walter Scheel’s pioneering work during his time as Development Minister, his farsightedness as Foreign Secretary, his integrative power as German Federal President and especially his courage as party chairman, present-day Germany would not be the same country.”

Christian Lindner
federal chairman of the Liberal Democratic Party (FDP)

Walter Scheel was born the son of a cartwright near Solingen in the Bergisches Land region. After taking his Abitur he started a banking apprenticeship. However, he was drafted into the military as early as 1939 and had to serve until the end of the war. In 1945, he was released as a first lieutenant and began working in the industry. One year later, he joined the Liberal Democratic Party (FDP) in North Rhine-Westphalia.

Walter Scheel started as a municipal councillor in Solingen. After that, he became a member of the Landtag (German state parliament) of North Rhine-Westphalia and worked as a member of the German Bundestag until 1974. Moreover, Scheel was the Vice President of the German Bundestag for two years. At the same time, he was a member of the Common Assembly of the European Coal and Steel Community and, from 1958 to 1961, also a member of the European Parliament. In 1961, Scheel became the first Federal Minister for Economic Cooperation under Federal Chancellor Konrad Adenauer. He retained this position when Ludwig Erhard was elected chancellor. In 1968, Walter Scheel took the position of head of the FDP.

More»

Association

“Good food has encouraged breakthroughs in many negotiations between nations. Joint meals have sealed many alliances. To break bread with guests, be they friends or strangers, is an unambiguous sign of friendship.”

Walter Scheel, 1991

The Trägerkreis der Walter Scheel Medaille für Genusskultur und Lebensart e.V. is recognized as a charitable non-profit association, it acts as the organisational basis for the award. Its members are united in their liberal views, their commitment to the European project and their belief in the immaterial heritage of Europe‘s culinary culture: its cuisine, wines, regional specialties and traditional dishes. Journalist Dr. Christoph Wirtz is the head of this Association.

Supporters

If you would like to support the Walter Scheel Medal, please send us your message and contact details below.

Walter Scheel Medaille

Unter der Schirmherrschaft S.E. Valéry Giscard d’Estaing, Präsident der Französischen Republik a.D.

„Die Weine, die Küchen, die regionalen Spezialitäten Europas gehören zu unserem Kulturerbe. Wir pflegen sie, um sie zu erhalten – als Spiegel der Vielfalt, Schönheit und des Reichtums unseres Kontinents.“

Zusammengehalten von einem festen Band unverbrüchlicher Werte und geprägt durch einen einzigartigen, in Jahrtausenden gewachsenen kulturellen Reichtum ist Europa heute in Vielfalt geeint. Seinen konkreten Ausdruck findet diese Vielfalt nicht zuletzt im kulinarischen Erbe Europas: seinen regionalen Spezialitäten, kulinarischen Traditionen, seinen durch Weinbau und Landwirtschaft geformten Kulturlandschaften. Walter Scheel war Zeit seines Lebens von der Bedeutung des Kulinarischen als Träger kultureller Identität überzeugt. Ob als Bundespräsident, als Außenminister und Stellvertreter des Bundeskanzlers, als Bundesminister für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit oder als Vorsitzender und später Ehrenvorsitzender der Freien Demokratischen Partei Deutschlands: Walter Scheel lebte und förderte die Genusskultur und setzte mit seiner persönlichen Begeisterung für Wein und Speisen von hoher Qualität zugleich politische Signale. Er förderte die jungen Protagonisten des „Deutschen Küchenwunders“ der 1970er Jahre, bot aufstrebenden Winzern eine Plattform und überraschte seine Gäste aus aller Welt durch die Vermittlung eines so ganz anderen, fröhlichen und genussfrohen Deutschlandbildes. Er war überzeugt: „Speise und Trank bringt die Menschen einander näher, verbindet die Völker, stellt herzliches menschliches Verbundensein her.“

Im Sinne dieses „Verbundenseins“ im Geist des europäischen Einigungswerkes zeichnet die „Walter Scheel Medaille für Genusskultur und Lebensart“ seit dem Jahr 2014 jährlich in der Regel zwei Persönlichkeiten aus, die sich in herausragender Weise um die Pflege der europäischen Genusskultur verdient gemacht, die in diesem Sinne einen außerordentlichen Beitrag zu unserem Kulturerbe geleistet haben. Die Auszeichnung steht unter der Schirmherrschaft S.E. Valéry Giscard d’Estaing, Präsident der Französischen Republik a.D.

Preisträger

Bernard Antony

BERNARD ANTONY
Fromagerie Antony – Vieux-Ferrette

Angelo Gaja

ANGELO GAJA
Azienda Agricola Gaja – Barbaresco

Familie Gillardeau

FAMILIE GILLARDEAU
Maison Gillardeau – Bourcefranc-le-Chapus

José Gómez

JOSÉ GÓMEZ
Cárnicas Joselito – Guijuelo

Marc_Haeberlin

FAMILIE HAEBERLIN
Auberge de l’Ill – Illhaeusern

Hugh Johnson

HUGH JOHNSON
Publizist – London

Giannola-Nonino

GIANNOLA NONINO
Nonino Distillatori – Percoto

Georg-Riedel

GEORG RIEDEL
Riedel Glas – Kufstein

Pierre_Emmanuel_Taittinger

PIERRE-EMMANUEL TAITTINGER
Champagne Taittinger – Reims

Witzigmann_

ECKART WITZIGMANN
Koch des Jahrhunderts – München

Walter Scheel

„Ohne Walter Scheels Pionierleistungen als Entwicklungshilfeminister, seinen Weitblick als Außenminister, seine Integrationskraft als Bundespräsident und vor allem seinen Mut als Parteivorsitzender wäre Deutschland heute ein anderes Land.“

Christian Lindner
Bundesvorsitzender der FDP

In der Nähe von Solingen im Bergischen Land als Sohn eines Stellmachers geboren, nahm Walter Scheel nach dem Abitur zunächst eine Banklehre auf, wurde aber bereits 1939 eingezogen und diente während des gesamten Krieges. 1945 als Oberleutnant entlassen, war er zunächst in der Industrie tätig und fand 1946 zur nordrhein-westfälischen FDP.

Zunächst wirkte Walter Scheel als Stadtverordneter in Solingen, anschließend als Landtagsabgeordneter in Nordrhein-Westfalen, bis 1974 als Bundestagsabgeordneter, zwei Jahre lang auch als Vizepräsident des Deutschen Bundestages. Parallel dazu gehörte er zunächst zwei Jahre lang der Gemeinsamen Versammlung der Europäischen Gemeinschaft für Kohle und Stahl an und von 1958 bis 1961 dem Europaparlament. 1961 wurde er der erste Bundesminister für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit unter Bundeskanzler Konrad Adenauer und blieb dies auch in den Kabinetten Erhard. 1968 übernahm Walter Scheel den Vorsitz der FDP.

Mehr»

Trägerkreis

„So manche Verhandlungen zwischen Staaten kamen bei einem guten Essen zum Durchbruch, so manches Bündnis wurde mit einem gemeinsamen Mahl besiegelt. Den Tisch mit dem Gast, dem Freund oder Fremden zu teilen, ist sichtbares Zeichen für Freundschaft.“

Walter Scheel, 1991

Der als gemeinnützig anerkannte Trägerkreis der Walter Scheel Medaille für Genusskultur und Lebensart e.V. bildet die organisatorische Basis der Auszeichnung, seine Mitglieder verbindet das Bekenntnis zum Liberalismus, zum europäischen Einigungswerk und das Bewusstsein um die prägende Bedeutung des immateriellen Erbes der Genusskultur: der Küchen, der Weine, der regionalen Spezialitäten und kulinarischen Traditionen Europas. Vorsitzender des Trägerkreises ist der Journalist Dr. Christoph Wirtz.

Unterstützer

Wenn Sie die Walter Scheel Medaille unterstützen wollen, freuen wir uns über Ihre Kontaktaufnahme.